100 Days of Salad – Days 1 and 2

6 Apr

I’ve decided that it is time to try something new.  I was on a really long stir-fry kick, but now I think I want to try 100 days of salad.  Tasty lettuce mixed with a bevy of ingredients.  Who could ask for more.

The only thing is I’ve embarked on 100 days of salad after finishing days one and two. Oh well – you can get a good idea by looking at the recipes.

 

April 5th, Jimbara and I tried out a new restaurant in the Domain http://www.austincakeball.com/kitchenandbar 

We had a great server – Kimmy I think.  She had some great suggestions and was always a step ahead of my requests.  We ordered plenty of things:

  • The hummus platter – Loved the edamame parmesean hummus, could have done without the carrot
  • Deviled Eggs platter – Mhmmm so tasty, so tasty.  I ate four and Jimbara had to suffice with one!
  • Jimbara had the short ribs, the ribs were fine but thought the polenta could be better.
  • For dessert I had the vanilla cakeball and Jimbara had half the devils cake.  Both were delicious and worthy of the price.

The creme-de-la-creme was my salad crispy goat cheese, with pickled onions, pecans and a cherry vinaigrette.  My plate was 100% clean.  In fact I enjoyed the salad so much I attempted to recreate for lunch today!

 

Here’s what I did:

Followed this tasty recipe for fried goat cheese: http://www.thehungrymouse.com/2010/12/23/crispy-fried-goat-cheese/ the only change I made was to use crumbles shaped into mini balls.  I popped the mini balls into the freezer for 10 minutes or so and they were easy to fry right up.

For the rest of the salad I used this recipe with very few mods (other than using less of the crumbled goat cheese and adding in my fried goat cheese – in addition to canned beets.)  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/beet-salad-with-goat-cheese/

 

Well tomorrow, I’ll be sure to post a photo of my salad and share with you.

 

XOXO Salad Girl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

